Skip to content

Invest Widely confirmed5 publishers 3 min read Published Updated

Twenty-one banks commit to a 2027 dollar stablecoin before naming a chain or a custodian

Twenty-one institutions have set a first-half-2027 date for a jointly issued dollar token. The float arithmetic points to a different motive: defending settlement flows, not earning on reserves.

The Investor · Invest desk

Send a correction

Illustration accompanying Twenty-one banks commit to a 2027 dollar stablecoin before naming a chain or a custodian
Generated illustration

What happened

  • Twenty-one financial institutions committed on Sept. 1 to establish a jointly owned stablecoin company during the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions, and the company has no name yet.
  • That company would issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027, putting a date on a project that had been described as a study until now.
  • The effort began in October 2025, when ten banks said they were studying a form of digital money backed one-to-one by reserves and available on public blockchains.
  • Thirteen new institutions signed up for this phase, taking the roster across five regions and adding asset managers to what had been a group of banks.
  • Still undisclosed are the company name, the token name, the blockchain networks, the reserve custodian, the governance structure and the final redemption terms.

Why it matters

  • Who has to decide decision Fidelity already issues FIDD through a national trust bank and WisdomTree issues USDW under a New York charter, and both signed on anyway, which makes "build our own token" the harder argument inside the other nineteen members.
  • Who's exposed exposure The launch window sits inside a federal framework signed on July 18, 2025 whose licensing and supervision rules are still unfinished, so the date depends on rulemakers none of the 21 controls.
  • What it limits constraint Until the group says whether a customer can hold the token directly or only through a participating bank, nobody can quote this to a corporate treasury as a payment option, and no consumer distribution plan exists to quote from.
  • What it sets up precedent With more than 140 payments and technology companies already behind a rival token called Open USD, consortium ownership is becoming the default shape for new dollar coins, which means distribution terms now get negotiated among dozens of co-owners rather than set by an issuer.

Next story · Invest · 11h ago

Circle aims USDC at about 40 emerging markets from a 25% share of stablecoins

Confirmed3 publishers

Two of the ten globally systemic banks that put their names to the October 2025 study are absent from the new roster, since eight of the original ten remain [7][15], and the group that replaced them reaches further than the first one did, out to Standard Bank in Africa and Sirius International Holding in Abu Dhabi [4], with Bank of America, Citi, Goldman Sachs and Wells Fargo anchoring the North American side [3].

The arithmetic that matters sits on the other side of the market. Tether's USDT had roughly $183.3bn in circulation on the day of the announcement and Circle's USDC about $73.6bn, according to Unchained [21], call it $256.9bn between the two [24], with Tether running about 2.5 times Circle's size [25]. Grant the consortium the friendlier of those two outcomes and assume it eventually matches USDC's entire circulation: divided evenly among 21 owners, that is roughly $3.5bn of float attributable to each [23]. For balance sheets of this size, $3.5bn of reserve balances is enough to fund a team, not a strategy. The real reason to be here is that a token spanning wholesale, institutional and retail payments plus digital-asset settlement [10] keeps dollar clearing inside bank-supervised plumbing, and each member is paying a small entry fee to hold that position open.

The hedging shows up in the design choices they have declined to make. Citi, Bank of America and Wells Fargo also sit behind a tokenized deposit network that The Clearing House plans to run from the same first half of 2027, an approach that keeps customer money inside insured deposits rather than a stablecoin reserve [20]. That is the same banks and the same window, with two incompatible answers to where the money legally rests and who earns the carry. Boston Consulting Group and Brunswick Group have already been named as advisers [13] while the reserve custodian, the blockchains and the redemption terms have not [11], and the venture describes itself as intending to be "GENIUS Act and MiCA-compliant, as applicable" [8], which is a hedge inside a hedge. Dollars first, with a euro token named as the next priority [9].

The schedule is looser than the headline date suggests: about 20 months separate the October 2025 study from the far end of the launch window [26], and depending on where in each window the events land, the company could have as little as one month or as much as twelve between incorporation and shipping [27].

This is probably wrong, but I would price the whole thing as optionality rather than as a product. The counter-thesis is respectable: the pitch rests on the members' distribution networks combined with bank compliance and risk management, advantages that stay untested until an operating model is published [18], and if institutions would rather settle tokenized securities against a coin issued by 21 supervised balance sheets than against USDT, distribution beats incumbency. What would move me off the option reading is published redemption mechanics with a named custodian, because that would mean somebody intends to sell this to a treasurer rather than to a board.

What to watch

  • Who takes operating control of the company, since no disclosure has yet named the entity or assigned roles to individual members.
  • Whether JPMorgan turns its early stablecoin discussions into a launch plan or stays outside the consortium entirely.

Information, not investment advice. This story is general information about companies and markets, drawn from cited reporting. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security; check the cited sources before acting.

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence72
Adoption3
Hype gap+12
Incentives58
Confidence66

Perspective Coverage

5 publishers
Builder
Builder 20%
Operator
Operator 41%
Investor
Investor 39%
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    Twenty-one financial institutions committed on Sept. 1 to establish a stablecoin company during the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions; the company has not been named.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  2. [2]

    The venture plans to issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  3. [3]

    North American participants are Bank of America, Capital One, Citi, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs, PNC Financial Services, Scotiabank, TD Bank Group, Wells Fargo and WisdomTree.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  4. [4]

    European members include Banco Santander, BBVA, Commerzbank, Credit Agricole, Deutsche Bank, Lloyds Banking Group, Rabobank and UBS; MUFG Bank represents East Asia, Sirius International Holding of Abu Dhabi the Middle East, and Standard Bank Africa.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  5. [5]

    Thirteen new names joined for the second phase of planning, taking the roster across five regions and adding asset managers alongside banks.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  6. [6]

    The project follows an October 2025 announcement in which 10 banks said they were studying a 1:1 reserve-backed form of digital money available on public blockchains.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  7. [7]

    Eight of the original ten G-SIBs are still involved: Banco Santander, Bank of America, Citi, Deutsche Bank, Goldman Sachs, MUFG Bank, TD Bank and UBS.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  8. [8]

    The group said in its release that it intends to be "GENIUS Act and MiCA-compliant, as applicable."

    Reported Supported Source: the consortium's release, as reported by UnchainedView cited source
  9. [9]

    The group said it may later introduce tokens linked to other G7 currencies, with a euro stablecoin named as its first expansion priority.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  10. [10]

    The planned token would support wholesale, institutional and retail payments alongside digital asset settlement services, including cross-border payments.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  11. [11]

    The group has not disclosed the company's name, token name, blockchain networks, reserve custodian, governance structure or final redemption terms.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  12. [12]

    No later disclosure had named the operating company or assigned specific roles to individual members.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  13. [13]

    Boston Consulting Group and Brunswick Group are advising the project.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  14. [14]

    The consortium has not disclosed whether users will be able to hold and transfer tokens directly or whether access will depend on participating banks and approved service providers, and has released no consumer distribution plan.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  15. [15]

    Two of the ten banks from the October 2025 study are not among the continuing members.

    Derived Supported
  16. [16]

    More than 140 payments and technology companies, among them Coinbase, Visa and Stripe, lined up behind a separate consortium token called Open USD in June.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  17. [17]

    JPMorgan has held early discussions about a possible stablecoin, although the bank said it had no active launch plan and would assess customer demand and regulation.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  18. [18]

    The announcement is a development plan rather than a completed launch, and the banks' potential advantages in customer relationships, compliance systems and payment infrastructure remain untested until the venture publishes its operating model and launches the token.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  19. [19]

    President Donald Trump signed the GENIUS Act on July 18, 2025, creating a federal framework with licensing and supervision requirements for payment stablecoin issuers, and its rules remain unfinished ahead of the planned launch.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  20. [20]

    Citi, Bank of America and Wells Fargo also sit behind a tokenized deposit network that The Clearing House plans to run from the first half of 2027, an approach that keeps customer money inside insured bank deposits instead of a stablecoin reserve.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  21. [21]

    Tether's USDT had roughly $183.3 billion in circulation on the Tuesday of the announcement, and Circle's USDC about $73.6 billion.

    Reported Supported Source: UnchainedView cited source
  22. [22]

    Fidelity launched FIDD in January via a federally chartered national trust bank, and WisdomTree issues USDW under a New York trust charter, yet both joined the shared token.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  23. [23]

    If the bank venture matched USDC's circulation and float were split evenly across the 21 owners, each would account for roughly $3.5 billion.

    Derived Supported
  24. [24]

    USDT and USDC together accounted for about $256.9 billion in circulation.

    Derived Supported
  25. [25]

    USDT circulation is about 2.5 times USDC circulation.

    Derived Supported
  26. [26]

    About 20 months separate the October 2025 ten-bank study from the far end of the first-half-2027 launch window.

    Derived Supported
  27. [27]

    Because the company is to be formed in the second half of 2026 and the token launched in the first half of 2027, the entity may exist for as little as about one month or as much as about twelve before it ships.

    Derived Supported

Sources

5 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. crypto.news

    1 article · September 1, 2026

    Bank of America, Citi join 21-firm stablecoin plan
  2. cryptopolitan.com

    1 article · September 1, 2026

    21 major banks including Goldman Sachs BofA plan to launch USD stablecoin in 2027
  3. decrypt.co

    1 article · September 2, 2026

    Goldman Sachs, BofA Among 21 Banks Planning Joint Dollar Stablecoin Launch
  4. prnewswire.com

    1 article · September 1, 2026

    Group of leading international financial institutions to establish stablecoin enterprise
  5. unchainedcrypto.com

    1 article · September 1, 2026

    Citi, Goldman and 19 Other Financial Firms Commit to Issuing a Dollar Stablecoin - Unchained

Topics and entities