Skip to content

Invest Independently confirmed2 publishers 3 min read Published

Bill Ackman's two co-leads supply 17% of Precision Neuroscience's $250 million round

Precision Neuroscience raised $250 million at just over a $1 billion valuation, $42.5 million of it from Bill Ackman's Pershing Square and his institute. The other $207.5 million came in undisclosed amounts, so the round names its generalist investors without showing what they paid.

The Investor · Invest desk

Send a correction

What happened

  • The Ackman Oxman Institute made its first investment as a co-lead, alongside Pershing Square and an undisclosed life sciences fund.
  • Nine other investors joined, including ARK Invest, Mubadala Capital, Duquesne Family Office, B Capital and Hitachi Ventures.
  • Precision reports more than 100 patient procedures across 18 medical institutions.
  • The Series D takes Precision's total funding to $430 million since its founding in 2021.

Why it matters

  • What it limits constraint Other brain-implant founders cannot point to this round as proof that generalist funds will write the large checks, because only 17% of it has a published size.
  • Who's exposed exposure Investors buying in at about $1 billion depend on FDA review of longer-term use, a step Mager has said could take years, while the only clearance covers 30 days.
  • Who has to decide decision Owning the Texas electrode plant commits Precision to manufacturing overhead before permanent clearance, while the surgical system stays with Medtronic.

Only one slice of the $250 million has a size attached, or rather one pair of related checks: Pershing Square and the Ackman Oxman Institute supplied $42.5 million [6], or 17% of the round [22]. The remaining $207.5 million [23] came from the unnamed life sciences fund that co-led [3] and the nine other investors [5]. The company did not disclose how that balance split.

The split decides whether generalist money is paying for the costly commercial stage of brain implants. If the unnamed specialist fund wrote most of the $207.5 million, specialists are still carrying the risk, and ARK Invest and Mubadala Capital [5] are names on the register. If ARK, Mubadala and Duquesne Family Office wrote large checks, the generalist case holds. I think the evidence supports a narrower claim. The one non-specialist check with a number on it is Ackman's, and TechFundingNews described it as a rare private check from one of Wall Street's most vocal activist investors [28]. "Precision has the team, technology, and ambition to be a leader in BCI, and we are therefore delighted to invest in the company," Ackman said [14].

The money pays for more FDA review. Layer 7 is a film thinner than a human hair that sits on the brain's surface [15]. It is cleared for up to 30 days of use [7], and pulse2 notes that the clearance should not be read as approval for every future clinical application [8]. Precision says the Series D will carry the device through later stages of FDA review and pay for commercial infrastructure [9]. According to TechFundingNews, Mager has said a permanent device could take years [17].

At just over $1 billion [16], Precision is valued at roughly 2.3 times the $430 million it has raised [24]. If that is a post-money figure, the new investors bought about a quarter of the company [25]. Neuralink raised $600 million at $9 billion last year [18], nearly nine times Precision's mark [26]. Science Corporation's $230 million Series C in March 2026 valued it at $1.5 billion [20]. Synchron has raised $345 million in all after a $200 million Series D in November 2025 [19], $85 million less than Precision [27].

Precision's spending shows what it will build itself. It owns a microelectromechanical systems plant in Texas that makes its electrode arrays [12], so electrode production is a fixed cost it carries before any permanent clearance. The surgical system goes to Medtronic, through a commercial partnership to fit Layer 7 into an established neurosurgical platform [11]. "The next phase of BCI will be defined by more than technology alone. We have built the clinical network, regulatory position, and manufacturing base that leadership in this field requires," said Michael Mager, the co-founder and chief executive [13].

TechFundingNews wrote that the question deciding the category is whether any of these companies can get a permanent, fully implantable device through the FDA [21]. Until Layer 7 clears that bar, a buyer at $1 billion is paying for more than 100 procedures at 18 institutions [10] and a 30-day clearance [7].

What to watch

  • Whether the FDA clears Layer 7 for use beyond 30 days, the review stage Precision says the Series D is meant to fund.
  • Terms of the Medtronic partnership once Layer 7 is sold, including who carries distribution and how revenue is shared.
  • The price of Precision's next round against the just-over-$1 billion mark set here.

Information, not investment advice. This story is general information about companies and markets, drawn from cited reporting. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security; check the cited sources before acting.

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence55
Adoption25
Hype gap+20
Incentives70
Confidence60
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    Precision Neuroscience raised $250 million in an oversubscribed Series D financing.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  2. [2]

    The Series D brings Precision's total funding to $430 million.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  3. [3]

    The round was co-led by Pershing Square Inc., the Ackman Oxman Institute, and an undisclosed life sciences investment fund.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  4. [4]

    The Ackman Oxman Institute, co-founded by Bill Ackman and Neri Oxman, was making its first investment with this round.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  5. [5]

    Additional investors included Duquesne Family Office, B Capital, ARK Invest, Invus, Mubadala Capital, Mirae Asset Capital, Korea Investment Partners, Hitachi Ventures, and JSL Health Capital.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  6. [6]

    Pershing Square and the Ackman Oxman Institute contributed $42.5 million of the round.

    Reported Supported Source: TechFundingNewsView cited source
  7. [7]

    Layer 7 has FDA clearance for up to 30 days of use.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  8. [8]

    The existing clearance should not be interpreted as establishing approval for every potential future clinical application of the technology.

    Reported Supported Source: pulse2View cited source
  9. [9]

    Precision intends to use the Series D to expand clinical development, advance the technology through subsequent stages of FDA review, and build infrastructure for commercialization.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  10. [10]

    Precision reports completing more than 100 patient procedures across 18 major medical institutions.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  11. [11]

    Precision has a commercial partnership with Medtronic to integrate its technology with an established neurosurgical platform.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  12. [12]

    Precision operates a wholly owned microelectromechanical systems manufacturing facility in Texas that produces its electrode arrays.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  13. [13]

    "The next phase of BCI will be defined by more than technology alone. We have built the clinical network, regulatory position, and manufacturing base that leadership in this field requires."

    Reported Supported Source: Michael Mager, Precision co-founder and chief executiveView cited source
  14. [14]

    "Precision has the team, technology, and ambition to be a leader in BCI, and we are therefore delighted to invest in the company."

    Reported Supported Source: Bill AckmanView cited source
  15. [15]

    Layer 7 Cortical Interface is a film thinner than a human hair that rests on the brain's surface, inserted through a slit in the skull less than a millimetre wide.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  16. [16]

    The deal values Precision at just over $1 billion.

    Reported Supported Source: TechFundingNewsView cited source
  17. [17]

    Mager has said getting a permanent, fully implantable device through the FDA could take years.

    Reported Supported Source: TechFundingNewsView cited source
  18. [18]

    Neuralink raised $600 million at a $9 billion valuation last year.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  19. [19]

    Synchron raised $200 million in a Series D led by Double Point Ventures in November 2025, taking its total to $345 million.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  20. [20]

    Science Corporation closed a $230 million Series C in March 2026, valuing it at $1.5 billion.

    Reported SupportedView cited source
  21. [21]

    The question that decides who wins the category is whether any of these companies can get a permanent, fully implantable device through the FDA.

    Reported Supported Source: TechFundingNewsView cited source
  22. [22]

    Pershing Square and the Ackman Oxman Institute supplied 17% of the round.

    Derived Supported
  23. [23]

    The rest of the round, $207.5 million, came from investors whose amounts were not disclosed.

    Derived Supported
  24. [24]

    A valuation of just over $1 billion is roughly 2.3 times the $430 million Precision has raised.

    Derived Supported
  25. [25]

    If the valuation is post-money, the $250 million bought about a quarter of the company.

    Derived Supported
  26. [26]

    Neuralink's $9 billion valuation is nearly nine times Precision's just-over-$1 billion mark.

    Derived Supported
  27. [27]

    Precision has raised $85 million more in total than Synchron.

    Derived Supported
  28. [28]

    The pitch persuaded one of Wall Street's most vocal activist investors to write a rare private check.

    Reported Insufficient Source: TechFundingNewsView cited source

Sources

2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. pulse2.com

    1 article · September 27, 2026

    Precision Neuroscience Raises $250 Million Series D To Advance Brain-Computer Interface Technology
  2. techfundingnews.com

    1 article · September 25, 2026

    Neuralink alum’s Precision Neuroscience raises $250M to advance brain-computer interfaces — TFN

Topics and entities

Topics

Entities