Russia puts Finance Ministry wages on the digital ruble for the first time
Russia's Finance Ministry paid some staff in digital rubles on Oct. 1, after 2025 budget trials worth nearly 16 million rubles. Payroll transfers are free on the central bank's platform through 2026, so the state carries the cost of moving its wages over.
The Investor · Invest desk

What happened
- The ministry did not disclose how many employees took part or what the payments totalled, and staff can still choose to be paid the old way.
- Participating employees opened their own digital ruble accounts on the Bank of Russia's platform before payday.
- One digital ruble has the face value of one cash ruble, and the Bank of Russia calls it a third form of the national currency.
- Major banks and large retailers opened their systems to digital ruble payments on Sept. 1, the first large-scale stage of a rollout that runs through 2028.
- The EU announced preemptive sanctions in April that ban support for developing the digital ruble.
Why it matters
- What's now possible capability Individuals can load only 300,000 rubles a month from their own bank accounts while businesses face no such limit, so employer payroll is the channel that can fill wallets past that cap.
- Who's exposed exposure Wages paid this way sit on the Bank of Russia's platform, so the commercial bank whose app an employee uses provides access without holding the balance.
- What it sets up precedent Federal budget-funded and autonomous institutions already have digital-ruble access for eligible spending, so the ministry's payroll run is a template they can copy at once.
Next story · Invest · 6h ago
EU leaders ask for new trade tools as the China deficit reaches €1 billion a dayConfirmed3 publishers
The 2025 trial money covered selected salaries, stipends and payments under government contracts [4]. In total it came to about 13% of the 120 million rubles of annual revenue above which a retailer generally falls into the rollout's first phase [10][24]. The Bank of Russia said its pilot that year covered transfers between individuals and businesses, budget payments and several types of smart contracts [7]. In Cointelegraph's account of the release, the ministry said it had applied proven rails to its own salary procedure [6].
The Bank of Russia has already priced payroll. A June 19 board decision set platform tariffs specifically for transfers from companies to individuals for salaries and other employment payments [16]. From Jan. 1, 2027, the published schedule provides compensation of 67 kopecks per completed payroll instruction to participating institutions, subject to a minimum amount per payment register, according to crypto.news [18]. The report does not say which side of the transfer pays it. If it is a payment to the banks that process wages, the central bank goes from charging nothing to paying for payroll volume. At one instruction per employee per month, 67 kopecks comes to about 8 rubles per employee a year [25].
The payroll run can go three ways from here. It can stay a ministry showcase with a few volunteers. It can spread across the federal institutions that already have access for eligible spending [15]. Or business use can stall in 2027, when standard merchant charges begin [21]. I'd expect the second, because the employer is the state and pays no platform charge on payroll through 2026 [17]. The case against is friction. Pay in digital rubles is optional, the existing payment route stays open, and each employee has to open the account personally [2]. If the first state-payroll volumes the ministry or the Bank of Russia publishes are still in the tens of millions of rubles, the first outcome is the one that happened.
Work on the currency began in 2021 [22]. The European Council said its April sanctions package responded to Russia's "war of aggression against Ukraine" [11][12]. Cointelegraph reported on July 2 that the launch was set for Sept. 1 [13]. MTS, Rostelecom and MegaFon readied payment infrastructure for that date alongside the retailers Wildberries and Ozon [9], and the ministry's payroll ran a month later [1]. On the dates in these reports, the EU ban has not moved the timetable [23].
What to watch
- Any Finance Ministry or Bank of Russia figure for how many state employees take wages in digital rubles, and the ruble value paid.
- Whether federal budget-funded institutions follow the ministry onto digital-ruble payroll before the zero platform charge ends with 2026.
- Whether the EU widens its digital-ruble ban to cover the banks, telecoms or retailers running the rollout.
Information, not investment advice. This story is general information about companies and markets, drawn from cited reporting. It is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security; check the cited sources before acting.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence55
- Adoption20
- Hype gap+15
- Incentives65
- Confidence55
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Russia's Finance Ministry paid some employees in digital rubles for the first time on Oct. 1, moving the central bank digital currency into regular government payroll.
- [2]
Receiving salary in digital rubles is optional; employees can continue receiving wages through existing payment methods, and those who choose the digital version must open an account on the central bank platform themselves.
- [3]
The Finance Ministry did not disclose how many employees took part or the total value of the payments.
- [4]
During 2025 the Finance Ministry and Federal Treasury used nearly 16 million rubles in digital currency for trial transactions covering selected salaries, stipends and payments under government contracts.
- [5]
Participating employees opened digital ruble accounts on the Bank of Russia's platform before receiving their wages.
- [6]
The ministry has applied proven rails from the 2025 budget trials to its own salary procedure, it said.
- [7]
The Bank of Russia said its 2025 pilot covered core transfers between individuals and businesses, budget payments and several types of smart contracts.
- [8]
Major banks and large retailers opened their systems for digital ruble transactions from Sept. 1, the first large-scale stage of access, and the rollout will continue through 2028.
- [9]
MTS, Rostelecom and MegaFon prepared their payment infrastructure for the Sept. 1 launch, alongside retailers such as Wildberries and Ozon.
- [10]
Retail companies covered in the first phase generally include businesses with annual revenue above 120 million rubles that meet the relevant banking conditions.
- [11]
European Union authorities announced preemptive sanctions on the digital ruble in April, banning support for developing it.
- [12]
The European Council said the sanctions package was in response to Russia's "war of aggression against Ukraine."
- [13]
Cointelegraph reported on July 2 that Russia planned to launch the digital ruble on Sept. 1.
- [14]
The digital ruble account is held on the Bank of Russia platform; commercial banks provide the interface used to access it, and an individual does not open separate digital ruble balances at every participating lender.
- [15]
From January 2026, federal state-owned, budget-funded and autonomous institutions gained access to digital rubles for eligible spending, according to the Finance Ministry's Oct. 2 announcement.
- [16]
A June 19 Bank of Russia board decision introduced platform tariffs specifically covering digital-ruble transfers from companies to individuals for salaries and other employment-related payments.
- [17]
Digital-ruble payroll transfers carry a zero platform charge through the end of 2026.
- [18]
From Jan. 1, 2027, the Bank of Russia's published tariff schedule provides compensation of 67 kopecks per completed payroll instruction to participating institutions, subject to a minimum amount per payment register.
- [19]
One digital ruble carries the same face value as one cash or conventional bank-account ruble; the Bank of Russia describes it as a third form of Russia's national currency alongside cash and non-cash money.
- [20]
Individuals can transfer up to 300,000 rubles each month from ordinary bank accounts into their digital ruble account; businesses do not face the same top-up limit, and funds already held in a digital wallet can be spent without that monthly restriction.
- [21]
Consumer digital ruble payments and person-to-person transfers carry no platform fee; businesses have a temporary zero-fee period through Dec. 31, with standard merchant charges beginning in 2027.
- [22]
Development of the digital ruble began in 2021.
- [23]
The rollout dates announced before and after the EU's April sanctions were met: the Sept. 1 launch reported on July 2 went ahead, and payroll followed on Oct. 1.
- [24]
The 2025 budget trial volume of nearly 16 million rubles is about 13% of the 120 million ruble annual revenue threshold for first-phase retailers.
- [25]
At one payroll instruction per employee per month, the 67-kopeck per-instruction amount comes to about 8 rubles per employee per year.
Sources
2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- cointelegraph.comRussia’s Finance Ministry pays wages in digital rubles for first time
1 article · October 4, 2026
- crypto.newsRussia uses digital rubles to pay salaries for first time
1 article · October 4, 2026
Topics and entities
Topics
- Public-sector payments
- Central Bank Digital Currencies
- Russia Sanctions Regimes
Entities
- Digital Ruble
- European Council
- Ozon
- Wildberries
- Bank of Russia
- Federal Treasury of Russia
- Elvira Nabiullina
- Rostelecom
- Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation