Skip to content

Build Independently confirmed2 publishers 2 min read Published

DeepSeek's outage credit is sized by the week before a 4h52m partial failure

DeepSeek will return seven days of API spend as bonus credit after a 4h52m partial outage on October 15. The credit lands on a future balance and cannot answer a request that failed that morning, so failover to a second provider stays the app's own job.

The Engineer · Build desk

Send a correction

Illustration accompanying DeepSeek's outage credit is sized by the week before a 4h52m partial failure
Generated illustration
DeepSeek's Flash API logged less uptime than Pro Uptime the DeepSeek status page showed on October 15 for July to October 2026, beside Caixin's count of faults since September.

DeepSeek's status page showed uptime for July to October 2026 of 99.74% for the V4 Pro API service and 99.47% for the V4.1 Flash API service. Caixin counts 13 faults since September, 4 of them partial outages of web and API.

DeepSeek's Flash API logged less uptime than Pro
FigureValueNoteClaim
V4 Pro API uptime, July to October 202699.74%8
V4.1 Flash API uptime99.47%8
Faults since September, per Caixin13 faults4 were partial outages of web and API7

What happened

  • DeepSeek's status page logged investigating at 00:11 UTC, cause identified at 01:06, fix applied and monitoring at 04:49, and resolved at 05:04.
  • The credit is applied automatically as bonus balance and goes to API users, according to The Paper and IT之家.
  • Caixin counts 13 faults since September, four of them partial outages of web and API.

Why it matters

  • What it costs cost The credit scales with spend from October 8 to 14, so a team that spent little that week gets little back, whatever the outage cost it.
  • What it limits constraint Both API models sat inside the incident, so falling back from V4 Pro to V4.1 Flash would not have helped. Failover has to cross a provider boundary.
  • Who has to decide decision The OpenAI-format API makes a second client cheap to write. The open choices are which errors trigger the switch and whether prompts hold up on the fallback model.

DeepSeek returns spend for October 8 to 14 [4], and the incident began at 00:11 UTC on October 15 [1]. The window ends before the outage starts [14]. The credit is sized by what an account spent the week before, so a team that was still prototyping gets little back even if the outage hit its launch [16].

Once it lands, the credit is spent first. DeepSeek's pricing page says the bonus balance is deducted before a top-up balance when both exist [10]. Bonus balance does not answer HTTP requests, and the dev.to write-up notes that failed requests, retries and support tickets are not part of it [13]. The notice as reported did not disclose whether the credit expires [17].

The shape of the incident matters more for design. The status page listed three affected components: the chat service, the V4 Pro API and the V4.1 Flash API [3]. A router that drops from Pro to Flash on error would have stayed inside the same incident [15]. DeepSeek has not said what failed. Its notice, as reproduced by IT之家, says it will remove single points of dependency [6]. The dev.to write-up interprets that wording as pointing to something shared underneath [18]. We'd read it the same way, which means failover has to cross a provider boundary.

That crossing is cheap to code. DeepSeek's docs say the API is compatible with the OpenAI format at the base URL https://api.deepseek.com, and they show it working with the official OpenAI Node SDK [11]. The write-up's fallback is a second client with a different base URL and model, triggered only by the errors an outage produces [12]. We think that means timeouts, dropped connections and 5xx responses. A 400 or 401 will fail the same way on the second provider, so retrying it there only adds latency.

The client is the small part of the cost. The larger part is a funded account and a key at the second provider, and a prompt set that has been tested against the fallback model before the morning it is needed.

The outage ran 08:11 to 13:04 in Beijing, and fell between 17:11 and 22:04 on October 14 in California [9]. On the status page, July to October 2026 uptime was 99.74% for V4 Pro and 99.47% for V4.1 Flash [8]. Caixin counts 13 faults since September, four of them partial outages of web and API [7]. These provider-wide figures describe your app only if your traffic hits the same models at the same hours.

What to watch

  • Whether DeepSeek publishes a root cause or names the shared dependency it says it will remove.
  • Whether the bonus credit carries an expiry date.
  • The next status-page incident touching V4.1 Flash, which showed the lower uptime figure.

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence70
Adoption
Not scored
Hype gap+5
Incentives
Not scored
Confidence68
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    DeepSeek's status page marked its API partially down from 00:11 to 05:04 UTC on October 15, and puts the total at 4 hours 52 minutes.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek status page, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  2. [2]

    The status page timeline on October 15 (UTC): 00:11 investigating, 01:06 cause identified and fix in progress, 04:49 fix applied and monitoring, 05:04 resolved and service restored.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek status page, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  3. [3]

    The incident listed three affected components: the chat service, the DeepSeek V4 Pro API service and the DeepSeek V4.1 Flash API service.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek status page, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  4. [4]

    According to The Paper, DeepSeek's compensation notice promises to return each account's consumption over the previous seven days (October 8 to 14) in full as bonus credit.

    Reported Supported Source: The Paper, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  5. [5]

    The credit is applied automatically as bonus balance and goes to API users, according to The Paper and IT之家.

    Reported Supported Source: The Paper and IT之家, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  6. [6]

    DeepSeek has not said what failed. Its compensation notice, as reproduced by IT之家, says the company has started a full review of service stability and will remove single points of dependency.

    Reported Supported Source: IT之家 reproduction of the DeepSeek notice, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  7. [7]

    Caixin counts 13 faults since September, most of them degraded performance on web and API, and four of them partial outages of web and API.

    Reported Supported Source: Caixin, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  8. [8]

    On October 15 the status page showed uptime for July to October 2026 of 99.74% for the V4 Pro API service and 99.47% for the V4.1 Flash API service.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek status page, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  9. [9]

    The outage window was 08:11 to 13:04 in Beijing and 17:11 to 22:04 on October 14 in California.

    Reported Supported Source: dev.to write-upView cited source
  10. [10]

    DeepSeek's pricing page says that when a top-up balance and a bonus balance both exist, the bonus balance is deducted first.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek pricing page, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  11. [11]

    DeepSeek's API docs say the API is compatible with the OpenAI format at the base URL https://api.deepseek.com, and show it working with the official OpenAI Node SDK.

    Reported Supported Source: DeepSeek API docs, as reported by dev.toView cited source
  12. [12]

    The dev.to write-up says a fallback is cheap, a second client with a different base URL and model, and that teams should fail over on the errors an outage produces and only on those.

    Reported Supported Source: dev.to write-upView cited source
  13. [13]

    The dev.to write-up says the credit stops at the bill: the requests the product failed to answer, the retries that piled up and the support tickets that followed are not in it.

    Reported Supported Source: dev.to write-upView cited source
  14. [14]

    The credit window (October 8 to 14) ends before the outage began at 00:11 UTC on October 15, so the outage's own spend is outside it.

    Derived Supported
  15. [15]

    Because both the V4 Pro and V4.1 Flash API services were affected components, a switch from Pro to Flash within DeepSeek would have stayed inside the same incident.

    Derived Supported
  16. [16]

    The credit equals each account's consumption over October 8 to 14, so it scales with that week's spend and not with the cost of the outage to the account.

    Derived Supported
  17. [17]

    The notice, as reported, does not say whether the credit expires.

    Reported Insufficient Source: dev.to write-upView cited source
  18. [18]

    The dev.to write-up says that when one incident takes down a chat product and two API models together, the notice's wording about single points of dependency fits: something underneath was shared.

    Reported Insufficient Source: dev.to write-up (inference, not stated by DeepSeek)View cited source

Sources

2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. dev.to

    1 article · October 15, 2026

    DeepSeek's API Was Partly Down for 4h52m. It's Refunding a Week of Spend as Credit
  2. scmp.com

    1 article · October 15, 2026

    DeepSeek offers user refunds after suffering another major outage

Topics and entities

Topics

  • LLM provider failover
  • API credits and pricing