Langdao Silex claims 100 hours of continuous running from a 15W laser-plasma EUV source
Chinese startup Langdao Silex displayed a laser-produced-plasma EUV source rated above 15W with 90% domestic components, Tom's Hardware reported. TrendForce, citing various sources, says commercializing it needs another three to five years.
The Engineer · Build desk
Three EUV source power figures: Langdao's output of over 15W, presumed measured at the plasma; ASML's 250W-class sources for commercial production in 2018 to 2019; and Cymer's sources delivering up to 11W during wafer exposure in 2012.
| Figure | Value | Note | Claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Langdao EUV output, over (presumed at the plasma) | 15 W | 19 | |
| ASML sources, 2018 to 2019 | 250 W-class | for commercial production | 13 |
| Cymer LPP, 2012 exposure | 11 W, up to | 14 |
What happened
- Langdao showed the prototype at the 26th China International Industry Fair in Shanghai without lighting it up.
- The FlintNano LPP-OXXO pairs a 1,000W drive laser running at 1 kHz to 20 kHz with a stated conversion efficiency above 2%.
- Langdao specifies plasma stability of 3% RMS and EUV output stability of 5%.
- Langdao was founded in 2024 by alumni of Tsinghua University's Gas Discharge Plasma Laboratory.
Why it matters
- What's now possible capability If the specs hold, China has a domestic source usable for semiconductor exposure experiments, though not for high-volume chip production.
- What it limits constraint Comparisons with the ASML-era record are loose, because those figures differ in measurement conditions and in how long the source ran.
- What it sets up precedent Cymer's 11W in 2012 to ASML's 250W-class sources in 2018 to 2019 spans six to seven years, a reference for Langdao's three-to-five-year estimate.
The company's specs are at least consistent with one another. At the stated conversion efficiency of more than 2%, a 1,000W drive laser gives 20W of EUV or more [3][22]. The 15W headline is therefore at or below what the other numbers imply. Tom's Hardware presumes the 15W was measured at the plasma, because Langdao has not demonstrated a complete EUV collection system [19]. The Western figures it cites for 2007 and 2013 were taken at intermediate focus [10][15].
Power is only half of it. Gigaphoton's 118W in late 2014 came from a 10-minute test [11]. Langdao claims over 100 hours of continuous running [4]. Tom's Hardware calls that "very impressive for a pre-production light source" and adds that there is no way to verify it [20]. Stability figures for a source that was never lit at the show are a spec sheet [2]. Tom's Hardware says everything known about the source comes from the company [21].
Production output is a larger step. ASML introduced 250W-class sources for commercial production in 2018 to 2019 [13]. Against 15W that is roughly 17 times the power [16], though the two are probably measured at different points. Raising output takes more powerful CO2 lasers, accurate tin-droplet generators, debris mitigation, durable collector mirrors and much better long-term reliability [6]. Langdao's higher-power FlintMicro-LPP has completed proof-of-principle validation, according to reports, but the company has not disclosed its output power, conversion efficiency or operating lifetime [9].
In our view the timeline stays long. The three-to-five-year estimate is relayed: TrendForce cites "various sources" [18]. The unit that exists is a low-power source [3], and Tom's Hardware's own caution is that a light source alone does not make an EUV scanner [7].
What to watch
- Whether Langdao fires the source in public or publishes output measured after a collector, which would put 15W on the same footing as intermediate-focus figures.
- Whether FlintMicro-LPP gets published output power, conversion efficiency and lifetime figures.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence25
- Adoption
- Not scored
- Hype gap+30
- Incentives
- Not scored
- Confidence62
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Chinese startup Langdao Silex demonstrated a prototype extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source with over 15W of output power, 90% domestic components and decent uptime.
- [2]
Langdao demonstrated the prototype at the 26th China International Industry Fair in Shanghai without lighting it up.
- [3]
The low-power FlintNano LPP-OXXO system uses a 1,000W driving laser (presumably CO2) with an operating frequency of 1 kHz to 20 kHz and conversion efficiency exceeding 2%.
- [4]
According to Langdao's specifications, the FlintNano LPP-OXXO can operate continuously for over 100 hours, with plasma stability of 3% RMS and EUV output power stability of 5%.
- [5]
The system's characteristics make it suitable for semiconductor exposure experiments, although its output remains insufficient for high-volume chip production.
- [6]
Increasing output requires more powerful CO2 lasers, highly accurate tin-droplet generators, effective debris mitigation, durable collector mirrors and considerably better long-term reliability.
- [7]
A light source alone does not make an EUV scanner.
- [8]
Langdao Silex was established in 2024 by alumni of Tsinghua University's Gas Discharge Plasma Laboratory.
- [9]
Langdao is also developing the FlintMicro-LPP high-power EUV source, which has completed proof-of-principle validation according to reports; Langdao has not disclosed its output power, conversion efficiency or operating lifetime.
- [10]
ASML's early EUV demonstration equipment used approximately 10W at intermediate focus DPP sources in 2007.
- [11]
Gigaphoton targeted 25W with its first prototype in 2013, demonstrated 43W in early 2014, and by late 2014 had achieved 118W during a 10-minute test.
- [12]
Because the historical figures involve different measurement conditions and operating durations, direct comparisons are vastly inaccurate.
- [13]
ASML introduced 250W-class EUV sources for commercial production in 2018 to 2019.
- [14]
Cymer's LPP sources installed in early NXE:3100 systems delivered up to 11W during wafer exposure in 2012.
- [15]
By 2013, Cymer demonstrated approximately 40W at intermediate focus over extended operating periods.
- [16]
A 250W-class source is roughly 17 times the 15W Langdao claims, though the two are probably measured at different points.
- [17]
From Cymer's 11W in 2012 to ASML's 250W-class commercial sources in 2018 to 2019 is six to seven years.
- [18]
Langdao will need another three to five years to commercialize its technology, according to TrendForce, which cites various sources.
- [19]
Tom's Hardware presumes the EUV output of over 15W was measured at the plasma rather than at intermediate focus, because the company has not demonstrated a complete EUV collection system.
- [20]
Tom's Hardware calls the 'over 100 hours' availability 'very impressive for a pre-production light source' but says there is no way to verify the claim.
- [21]
Langdao Silex has not demonstrated its EUV light source in action, so all that is known about it comes from the company itself.
- [22]
A 1,000W drive laser at conversion efficiency exceeding 2% implies about 20W of EUV or more, so the claimed 'over 15W' is at or below that figure.
Get this ledger inside ChatGPT. Ask about any of our stories and the answer brings its figure, each claim’s verdict and the sources. Free, no account.
Sources
2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- tomshardware.comChina startup demoes prototype EUV light source
1 article · October 16, 2026
- wccftech.comChinese Startup Unveils First EUV Light Source Prototype To Challenge ASML’s Monopoly, But Dutch Firm Won’t Be Losing Any Sleep Over This Progress
1 article · October 15, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.